Only 16 female lawmakers are elected to the tenth National Assembly.


The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) published the list of successful names published by INEC as legislators in the incoming 10th National Assembly following the February 25 elections. Only 15 female legislators made it to the list, with three female senators-elect and 13 female House of Representatives members.

The three senators-elect are Labour Party’s Kingibe Ireti Heebah representing the Federal Capital Territory; Peoples Democratic Party’s Banigo Ipalibo Harry, representing Rivers West and Adebule Idiat Oluranti of the All Progressives Congress representing Lagos West.

The 13 House of Reps members include Orogbu Obiageli (LP), Nnabuife Chinwe Clara (YPP), Gwacham Maureen Chinwe (APGA), Ebikake Marie Enenimiete (PDP), Akume Regina (APC), Onuh Onyeche Blessing (APC), Zainab Gimba (APC), Ibori-Suenu Erhiatake (PDP), Onuoha Mariam Odinaka (APC), Benj Butmak Lar (PDP), Goodhead Boma (PDP), Bukar Abah Ibrahim Khadijat Waziri (APC) and Fatima Talba (APC)

This development was against the clamours for increased participation and appointments for women in politics, as several presidential candidates harped on women inclusion and political participation. Peter Obi, the Labour Party presidential candidate, decried the exclusion of women from politics and its implications for the country, arguing that for the country to move forward, women must be engaged in governance and decision-making. The Minister of Women Affairs, Pauline Tallen, had similarly identified the low number of women in politics and other leadership positions as a major setback to the country’s progress. Data from 12 out of 36 states of the federation show that women have been short-changed in the election and appointment of women, with no female governors, only two female deputy governors, and 7.34 per cent of all levels of governance in the states and local government areas.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here