PDP: Party chieftains urge Fayose to join national chairmanship race


Strong indications emerged on Tuesday that a former governor of Ekiti State, Mr Ayo Fayose, is being prodded by some leaders in the Peoples Democratic Party, to join the race for the party’s national chairmanship.

An aide to the governor who spoke on condition of anonymity stated that the party’s chieftains who are members of the northern caucus visited the Lagos residence of the ex-governor twice within two weeks to persuade him. He, however, didn’t give details about the matter.

The South-West PDP appears to be bracing up to produce the party’s national chairman which it hasn’t occupied since the establishment of the party.

The zone is now more determined following the bickering between the Rivers State governor, Nyesom Wike, and the embattled chairman of the party, Prince Uche Secondus, who the former supported into office.

The term of the Secondus-led National Working Committee officially ends in December, 2019.

When contacted, Fayose neither confirmed nor denied the development. He insisted that the position had yet to be zoned to the South-West.

Fayose said, “The position has yet been zoned to the South-West. Even if it’s zoned, for the benefits of our people in the South-West, we have to do due diligence. It’s not about contesting but making a success of the office.

“I understand there are other people interested in the position. They are also eligible and competent. But wherever the South-West goes is where I will go. I will follow the South-West. “Wherever the Yoruba go when the chairmanship position of our party is zoned to the South-West is where I will go. It will not be a do-or-die affair.  That’s all I can say for now. “

Earlier, a PDP group, Alliance for PDP South-West, has listed 11 aspirants from zone for the position and the list included a former Osun State Governor, Prince Olagunsoye Oyinlola, ex-Ondo State PDP governorship candidate, Eyitayo Jegede (SAN), Fayose among others.

Although the party’s constitution allowed a national chairman to serve for four years, in the party’s history, none of its national chairmen has served four years.